Youth Services

Council provides a range of youth services, including running events through the State Government's FReeZA program and maintaining a Youth Council to give young people a voice in Council decision-making. Every year young people in the Alpine Shire are recognised for their achievements in the annual Alpine Shire Youth Awards.

For more information on Youth Services or to share your idea for an event, opportunity or initiative to support young people in the Alpine Shire, contact Youth Development Officer Jenny Corser on (03) 5755 0506 or or find us on Facebook.

2016 Youth Awards

Do you know someone aged between 12 – 21 who deserves recognition for their academic, artistic, community, sporting or workplace achievements?

Do you know a young person who is inspirational, or who supports agricultural or rural living?

Nominations for the 2016 Alpine Shire Youth Awards are now open. Download the guidelines and application form here.

These awards are a fantastic way of recognising the great work that local young people do every day.

More often than not the contribution and achievements of our young people can go unrecognised, and these awards are our way of acknowledging and thanking young people.

Anyone can nominate – if you know anyone who deserves to be celebrated for their contribution to their community, for excelling in their chosen field or for inspiring others, you can nominate them.

Nominees must be aged between 12 – 21 years and have lived, worked or studied in the Alpine Shire in 2016. Winners will be announced at a Youth Awards night at the Bright Community Centre on Friday, 16 September. Nomination close on Friday, 22 July.

For more information, please contact Council’s Youth Development Officer Jenny Corser on (03) 5755 0524 or

Youth Awards

Held annually in October, the Youth Awards celebrate the achievements of local young people in the categories of: Academic, Workplace, Arts, Inspirational, Community, Sports and Rural.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2015 Youth Awards:

Community: Bright P-12 College Students Group and Chloe Breen, Marian College
Arts: Breanna Johnson, Marian College
Workplace: Brooke Rouse, Bright Coiffure
Inspirational: Hope Ludbrook, Marian College
Academic: Nathan DeVries, Marian College
Sport: Phillip Bellingham, Birkebeiner Nordic Ski Club
Rural: Leah Orton, Myrtleford P-12 College
Alpine Shire 12 - 17 years: Samantha Forbes, Myrtleford P-12 College
Alpine Shire 18 - 24 years: Phillip Bellingham, Birkebeiner Nordic Ski Club

The winners of the 2014 Youth Awards can be found here.

Congratulations to all the winners of 2013:

Community Award: Dylan Allen
Arts Award: Peanut Schaefer
Workplace Award: Leonardo Caldas
Inspirational Award: Deborah Gray
Academic Award: Nicholas Garoni
Sports Award: Laura Sullivan
Alpine Shire Award 18 – 24 years: Courtenay May Ford
Alpine Shire Award 12 – 17 years: Aiden Varley

North East Skate Series

Council partners with Indigo Shire Council to run the North East Skate Park Series heats in Myrtleford, Mount Beauty and Bright each year.

These events form part of the larger series, which also incorporates heats throughout the Indigo Shire.

For more info connect with the North East Skate Park Series on Facebook.

subscribe Latest Updates by Email Sign Up Now
Powered by