Alpine Shire celebrates 2017 Youth Awards

13 September 2017

Rhiannon Symons, Harris Doodewaard, Deakin Hunter, Ashley Farmer, Harrison Neville, Dylan Sgambelloni, Flynn Eriksson, Lily-Rose Burgess, Jordyn Parmesan.

Over 200 people gathered to celebrate the achievements and contributions made by young people in the community at the Alpine Shire Youth Awards on Friday 8 September at Myrtleford Performing Arts Centre.

The evening featured catering by Marian College’s hospitality students and entertainment by young musicians, Matthew Smith, Josh Lindsay, Rahn Stavar, Max Gray and Maddison Evans as well as dancers, Jordyn Parmesan and Tyra Hunt.

One of the highlights of the evening was a presentation by Lincoln Budge, who became paraplegic as the result of a car accident on the weekend of his 22nd birthday, nine years ago.

Overall, 80 young people from across the Shire were nominated for their academic, sporting, and artistic achievements, for their contributions to the community or workplace and for endurance and persistence. Alpine Shire Mayor Ron Janas said the quality of nominations was extremely high, making it very difficult for the judges to select only one winner for each category.

"It is gratifying to have such a wealth of talented and community-minded young people living in the Alpine Shire," he said.

The category winners for the 2017 Alpine Shire Youth Awards are:

> Academic: Harrison Neville from Bright P-12 College
> Community: Deakin Hunter from Marian College Myrtleford.
> Endurance & Persistence: Dylan Sgambelloni from Bright P-12 College
> Performing Arts: Jordyn Parmesan from Marian College, Myrtleford
> Rural: Harris Doodewaard from Myrtleford P-12 College
> Sport & Recreation: Flynn Eriksson from Mount Beauty Secondary College
> Visual Arts & Media: Lily-Rose Burgess from Bright P-12 College
> Workplace: Rhiannon Symons from Equine Training and Services Australia.

The Alpine Shire Youth Award for 12-16 years was awarded to Ashley Farmer and the Alpine Shire Youth Award 17-21 was awarded to Dylan Sgambelloni, these two young people demonstrate a breadth of community involvement and endurance as well as excelling in their own fields of interest.

Alpine Shire’s Youth Projects Officer, Elisha Hazeldine, praised the work of the Youth Awards Committee, a group of 12 young people from Myrtleford who have worked tirelessly to plan and deliver the evening.

"It has been really exciting working with this group of young people, they have done all the planning, I have been there to guide them," she said.

Elisha also thanked all the community groups and local businesses that supported the Youth Awards by sponsoring a category. she said it was a great way for local people to acknowledge the value that young people have in our community.

Powered by