Director Nathalie Cooke and Acting CEO Charlie Bird with Cathy McGowan, Mayor Ron Janas and Councillors Sarah Nicholas, John Forsyth and Kitty Knappstein.

Smooth transition in place for Alpine Shire leadership

22 May 2017

Mayor Ron Janas says a smooth transition plan is in place for the Alpine Shire as it farewells its chief executive and welcomes the current Director Assets to the position of Acting Chief Executive Officer.

Charlie Bird, Director Assets at Alpine Shire Council, formally began his role as Acting CEO on Monday 22 May as Mr Barry moves to Melbourne to begin his new position as Deputy Auditor General of Victoria later this month.

“I’d like to thank Dave for his positive contribution to our Shire over the past three and a half years and for his tireless efforts in steering us through a period of change. I wish him all the best in his new position,” said Cr Janas.

“We are fortunate to have built a strong management team under Dave’s leadership and I’m pleased to have a Director of Charlie’s calibre ready to step into the role of Acting CEO to oversee our operations during the recruitment period.”

Alpine Shire has begun the recruitment process for a new CEO and it is anticipated a candidate will have commenced the position before the end of the year.

Mr Bird has been a part of the management team since February 2015 after leading a management consultancy in the sectors of local government, natural resources and water industry.

Mr Bird said he has worked closely with Mr Barry in recent months in preparation for the Acting CEO role.

“It’s a great opportunity and I look forward to working with the Mayor, our Councillors and team over the coming months to ensure we maintain our high standard of service delivery to the community,” he said.

Image: Acting CEO Charlie Bird and Mayor Ron Janas met with Member for Indi, Cathy McGowan, in May to continue to work together on delivering best outcomes for the Alpine Shire. Left to right: Director Corporate, Nathalie Cooke; Acting CEO, Charlie Bird; Mayor Ron Janas; Member for Indi, Cathy McGowan; Councillor Sarah Nicholas; Councillor John Forsyth; Councillor Kitty Knappstein.

Powered by