Alpine Shire youth recognised

THE achievements of local young people were celebrated at the Alpine Shire Council Youth Awards on Friday, October 14.

Nominees and winners were recognised for their efforts across 10 categories, including Leadership in Sport, Inspirational Achiever and Positive Youth awards.

Mayor Nino Mautone applauded the scope of positive achievements displayed by local young people.

“At Alpine Shire Council we are here to support and give everything we can to foster our young people’s abilities,” he said.

“It is so important that we recognise what they are doing and how they are contributing as valued members of our community.

“Everyone has a skill or an ability that they can share with the rest of us – that’s what makes the Alpine Shire such a fantastic place to live.

“People aren’t afraid to have a go, put themselves out there and make a difference.”

The awards, held at the Uniting Church Hall, Myrtleford, was organised entirely by young people and followed a revamped format, with new award categories and a more youth orientated focus.

Cr Mautone applauded the youth councillors for their contribution to the community.

“The Youth Council works hard to organise events and identify and address the issues facing young people today,” he said.

“They are dedicated and passionate about representing their peers and I congratulate them for their hard work.”

The winners were:

Arts Award: Caitlin Ahne-Hawley

Challenge and Change Award: Elliot Powell

Eco Award: Miranda Williams

Group Project Award: Marlo Campus Students

Inspirational Achiever Award: Will Betheras

Leadership in Sport Award: Benjamin Deans

Positive Youth Award: Lucy Donehue

Young Entrepreneur Award: Bonnie Goodman

Alpine Shire Award (12 - 16yrs): Bethany Crellin

Alpine Shire Award (17 – 25yrs): Sera Maria Patterson

Alpine Shire Council Youth Awards winners
HIGH ACHIEVERS: Alpine Shire Council Youth Award winners (back, from left) Bethany Crellin, Miranda Williams, Tom Stevenson-Vissers (front, from left), Lucy Donehue, Caitlin Ahne-Hawley, Bonnie Goodman, Will Betheras and Georgia Whittaker.

Powered by